They led Southampton’s councils-Town & City-1934-1986.(30)

Sir James Matthews & Mrs Irene Candy,CBE.
Southampton has had Council leaders of distinction over the years resulting in much benefit to the residents & businesses of today’s City. The past from Sir Sydney Guy Kimber onwards is worth noting as part of our 19th., 20th, centurys’ history.   Hopefully, the future years will yield worthy successors.Sir James Matthews-1934-1967. Knighted-1966.
Mrs. Irene Candy-1958-1986. Sheriff-1983. Mayor-1984.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: